Header
People Image

Faculty

Directory - A - B - C - D - F - G - H - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - R - S - T - V - W - Y - Z - Adjunct Faculty

To contact us from outside the LSU campus -
Dial (225) 578-xxxx, On campus dial (8) xxxx

A -
Manal Abdelwahab
Manal Abdelwahab
Professor
Ph.D., 2004 - University of Central Florida
Physics Education
225-578-8690
manal@lsu.edu
343-A Nicholson
Philip Adams
Philip Adams
Professor
Ph.D., 1986 - Rutgers University
Condensed Matter Physics
225-578-6847
adams@phys.lsu.edu
210-C Nicholson
Ivan Agullo
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2009 - University of Valencia
Gravity Theory
225-578-0016
agullo@phys.lsu.edu
241-B Nicholson
B -
Robert Beaird, Instructor
Robert Beaird
Instructor
Ph.D., 2011 - Louisiana State University
Physics Education
225-578-0019
rbeair1@tigers.lsu.edu
362 Nicholson
JC Blackmon
Jeffrey Blackmon
Professor
Ph.D., 1994 - University of North Carolina
Experimental Nuclear Physics
225-578-7283
blackmon@phys.lsu.edu
221-C Nicholson
Dana Browne
Dana Browne
Professor, Department Associate Chair
Ph.D., 1982 - Stanford University
Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics
225-578-6843
browne@phys.lsu.edu
219 Nicholson
C -
Lai-Him Chan
Lai-Him Chan
Professor Emeritus of Physics
Ph.D., 1966 - Harvard University
Particle and Quantum Field Theory
(225) 578-6858
chan@phys.lsu.edu
337 Nicholson
Michael Cherry
Michael Cherry
Roy P. Daniels Professor of Physics, Department Chair
Ph.D., 1978 - University of Chicago
High Energy Astrophysics
225-578-2262
cherry@phys.lsu.edu
202-K Nicholson
Geoffrey Clayton
Geoffrey Clayton
Ball Family Distinguished Professor
Ph.D., 1983 - University of Toronto
Astronomy and Astrophysics
225-578-8275
gclayton@phys.lsu.edu
233-A Nicholson
Thomas Corbitt
Thomas Corbitt
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2008 - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Experimental Gravitational Wave Physics
225-578-4779
tcorbitt@phys.lsu.edu
279 Nicholson
D -
Catherine Deibel
Catherine Deibel
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2008 - Yale University
Experimental Nuclear Physics
225-578-4950
deibel@phys.lsu.edu
218-B Nicholson
Joyoni Dey
Joyoni Dey
Assistant Professor
Ph.D.,1999 - Carnegie Mellon University
Medical Imaging, Image Reconstruction and System Design
225-578-4289
deyj@lsu.edu
459-A Nicholson
PeterDiener
Peter Diener
Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 1997 - University of Copenhagen
General Relativity and Gravitation
225-578-6880
diener@cct.lsu.edu
1079 Digital Media Center
John DiTusa
John DiTusa
Professor
Ph.D., 1992 - Cornell University
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
225-578-2606
ditusa@phys.lsu.edu
211-B Nicholson
Jonathan Dowling
Jonathan Dowling
Professor and Hearne Chair of Theoretical Physics
Ph.D., 1988 - University of Colorado-Boulder
Quantum Science and Technologies
225-578-0887
jdowling@phys.lsu.edu
453 Nicholson
Jerry Draayer
Jerry Draayer
Roy P. Daniels Professor
Ph.D., 1968 - Iowa State University
Nuclear Theory/Computational Physics
225-578-6844
draayer@phys.lsu.edu
221-E Nicholson
Tomas Dytrych
Tomas Dytrych
Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2008 - Louisiana State Univeristy
Theoretical/Computational Nuclear Physics
225-578-8278
tdytrych@phys.lsu.edu
224 Nicholson
F -
Juhan Frank
Juhan Frank
Professor
Ph.D., 1978 - University of Cambridge, England
Astronomy & Astrophysics
225-578-6845
frank@phys.lsu.edu
251 Nicholson
G -
Mette Gaarde
Mette Gaarde
Professor
Ph.D., 1997 - University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Theoretical Atomic and Optical Physics
225-578-0889
gaarde@phys.lsu.edu
215-B Nicholson
Joseph Giaime
Professor
Ph.D., 1995 - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Experimental General Relativity
225-578-5794
giaime@phys.lsu.edu
271-A Nicholson
Gabriela Gonzalez
Gabriela González
Professor
Ph.D., 1995 - Syracuse University
Experimental General Relativity
225-578-0468
gonzalez@lsu.edu
271-C Nicholson
Aaron Grocholski
Instructor
Ph.D., 2006 - University of Florida
Physics Education
225-578-6675
grocholski@phys.lsu.edu
361 Nicholson
T. Gregory Guzik
T. Gregory Guzik
Professor
Ph.D., 1980 - University of Chicago
Particle Astrophysics
225-578-8597
guzik@phunds.phys.lsu.edu
359-C Nicholson
H -
William Hamilton
William Hamilton
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1963 - Stanford University
Experimental General Relativity and Low Temperature Physics
225-578-5851
hamilton@phys.lsu.edu
269 Nicholson
Kenneth Hogstrom
Kenneth Hogstrom
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1976 - Rice University
Medical and Health Physics/Radiation Physics
225-578-0590
hogstrom@lsu.edu
437 Nicholson
Robert Hynes
Robert Hynes
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1999 - The Open University
Multiwavelength Observational Astronomy
225-578-7459
hynes@phys.lsu.edu
247-A Nicholson
J -
M. Jarrell
Mark Jarrell
Professor
Ph.D., 1987 - University of California, Santa Barbara
Condensed Matter Physics
225-578-7528
jarrellphysics@gmail.com
285 Nicholson
 
Guang Jia
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 2006 - Ohio State University
Medical and Health Physics
225-334-2030
gjia@phys.lsu.edu
443-B Nicholson
Rongyin Jin
Rongying Jin
Professor
Ph.D., 1997 - ETH (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich)
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics and Materials Science
225-578-0028
rjin@phys.lsu.edu
229-B Nicholson
Warren Johnson
Warren Johnson
Professor
Ph.D., 1974 - Rutgers University
Experimental Low Temperature Physics
225-578- 5854; 225-578-5860
johnson@ligo.phys.lsu.edu
271-B Nicholson
K -
Richard Kurtz
Richard Kurtz
Professor
Ph.D., 1983 - Yale University
Experimental Solid State Physics
225-578-4029
rlkurtz@lsu.edu
217-C Nicholson
Thomas Kutter
Thomas Kutter
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1999 - The University of Heidelberg
Experimental High Energy Physics
225-578-8310
kutter@phys.lsu.edu
220-C Nicholson
L -
Arlo Landolt
Ball Family Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1962 - Indiana University
Astronomy
225-578-6795
landolt@phys.lsu.edu
259-A Nicholson
Kristina Launey
Kristina Launey
Research Assistant Professor
225-578-0351
kristina@phys.lsu.edu
226 Nicholson
Hwang Lee
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1998 - Texas A&M University
Quantum Optics/Quantum Information Processing
225-578-2365
hwlee@phys.lsu.edu
451 Nicholson
M -
James Matthews
Professor
Ph.D., 1984 - University of Wisconsin-Madison
Experimental Astrophysics and Particle Physics
225-578-8598
matthews@phys.lsu.edu
347 Nicholson
Kenneth "Kip" Matthews
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1997 - The University of Chicago
Medical Imaging Physics
225-578-2740
kipmatth@lsu.edu
459-B Nicholson
William McElgin
Instructor
Ph.D., 2007 - University of Chicago
Physics Education
225-578-6912
mcelgin@lsu.edu
368 Nicholson
Dalgis Mesa
Dalgis Mesa
Instructor
Ph.D., 2014 - Louisiana State University
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
225-578-XXXX
dmesa1@lsu.edu
323 Nicholson
William Metcalf
William Metcalf
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1974 - California Institute of Technology
Experimental High Energy Physics
225-578-8312
metcalf@phys.lsu.edu
218-A Nicholson
Moreno
Juana Moreno
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1997 - Rutgers University
Computational Material Science
225-578-7586
moreno@phys.lsu.edu
293 Nicholson
N -
Wayne Newhauser
Dr. Charles M. Smith Chair of Medical Physics
Ph.D., 1995 - University of Wisconsin
Medical and Health Physics/Radiation Physics
225-578-2762
newhauser@lsu.edu
439-B Nicholson
O -
Robert O'Connell
Robert O'Connell
Boyd Professor
Ph.D., 1962 - University of Notre Dame
Quantum Optics, Atomic Physics, Stochastic Physics, General Relativity
225-578-6848
oconnell@phys.lsu.edu
225 Nicholson
P -
WPlummer
Ward Plummer
Professor
Ph.D., 1968 - Cornell University
Experimental Condensed Matter and Materials Physics
225-578-3300
wplummer@phys.lsu.edu
229-C Nicholson
Jorge Pullin
Professor and Hearne Chair of Theoretical Physics
Ph.D., 1988 - Instituto Balseiro, Argentina
General Relativity and Quantum Gravity
225-578-0464
pullin@phys.lsu.edu
241-C Nicholson
R -
A. Ravi P. Rau
Alumni Professor
Ph.D., 1970 - University of Chicago
Atomic Theory
225-578-6841
arau@phys.lsu.edu
223 Nicholson
Dubravka Rupnik
Dubravka Rupnik
Instructor
Ph.D., 1994 - Louisiana State University
Physics Education
225-578-8400
rupnik@phys.lsu.edu
366 Nicholson
S -
Bradley Schaefer

Bradley Schaefer
Alumni Professor and Distinguished Professor
Ph.D., 1983 - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Astronomy/Astrophysics

225-578-0015
schaefer@lsu.edu
243-A Nicholson
Kenneth Schafer
Kenneth Schafer
Ball Family Distinguished Professor
Ph.D., 1989 - University of Arizona
Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics
225-578-0466
schafer@phys.lsu.edu
222-B Nicholson
DSheehy
Daniel Sheehy
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 2001 - University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Theoretical Condensed Matter
225-578-5852
sheehy@phys.lsu.edu
210-B Nicholson
Parampreet Singh
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2004 - IUCAA, University of Pune
Quamtum Gravity, Cosmology
225-578-7513
psingh@phys.lsu.edu
255-A Nicholson
Phillip Sprunger
Phillip Sprunger
Professor
Ph.D., 1993 - University of Pennsylvania
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
225-578-1254
phils@lsu.edu
217-B Nicholson
J. Gregory Stacy
J. Gregory Stacy
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1985 - University of Maryland
Space Science/Particle Astrophysics
225-578-3557; SU:225-771-2831
gstacy@phys.lsu.edu
359-B Nicholson
Shane Stadler
Professor
Ph.D., 1998 - Tulane University
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
225-578-2025
stadler@phys.lsu.edu
210-F Nicholson
Amber Stuver
Instructor
Ph.D., 2006 - Pennsylvania State University
LIGO Livingston Observatory
225-578-0019
astuver@lsu.edu
362 Nicholson
T -
Joel Tohline
Joel Tohline
Director Emeritus
Alumni Professor Emeritus
225-578-6851
tohline@phys.lsu.edu
264 Nicholson
Martin Tzanov
Martin Tzanov
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2005 - University of Pittsburgh
Experimental Neutrino Physics
225-578-0554
mtzanov@phys.lsu.edu
220-B Nicholson
V -
Ilya Vekhter
Ilya Vekhter
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1998 - Brown University
Condensed Matter Theory
225-578-0598
vekhter@phys.lsu.edu
210-E Nicholson
W -
John Wefel
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1971 - Washington University-St. Louis
Experimental/Theoretical Astrophysics
225-578-8696
wefel@phunds.phys.lsu.edu
359-A Nicholson
Mark Wilde
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2008 - University of Southern California
Quantum Science and Technology
225-578-4323
mwilde@phys.lsu.edu
447-A Nicholson
Y -
David Young
Professor
Ph.D., 1998 - Florida State University
Materials Science
225-578-2490
dyoung@phys.lsu.edu
210-D Nicholson
Z -

Edward Zganjar
Alumni Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1966 - Vanderbilt University
Experimental Nuclear Physics

225-578-6842
zganjar@phys.lsu.edu
221-B Nicholson
JZhang
Jiandi Zhang
Professor
Ph.D., 1994 - Syracuse University
Experimental Condensed Matter and Materials Physics
225-578-4103
jiandiz@lsu.edu
229-A Nicholson

 


Adjunct Faculty -

  • Allen, Gabrielle - Center for Computation & Technology (CCT) - (8)4012, gallen@cct.lsu.edu
  • Bagayoko, Diola - Southern University
  • Carver, Robert - Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center - (225) 215-1180,
  • Clem, James - Grove City College - (724) 458-3883, jlclem@gcc.edu
  • Orsola De Marco - Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia - +61-2-9850-4241,
  • Dugas, Joe - Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center - (225) 215-1347,
  • Ederer, David - Center for Advanced Micrsostructures and Devices (CAMD) - (225) 578-5601, dederer@lsu.edu
  • Fontenot, Jonas - Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center - (225) 215-1337,
  • Gibbons, John P. - Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center - (225) 215-1145,
  • Jacobs, Kurt - University of Massachusetts-Boston, (617) 287-6044,
  • Johnson, Sheldon - Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center - (225) 215-1132, sheldonj@marybird.org
  • Lehner, Luis - Perimeter Institute and University of Guelph - (519) 569-7600 x6571,
  • Milburn, Gerard - The University of Queensland - milburn@physics.uq.au
  • Pan, Feng - Liaoning Normal University, Dalian, China - - +86-411-425-9630
  • Sajo, Erno - University of Massachusetts-Lowell,
  • Schaefer, Martha - LSU Dept. of Geology & Geophysics - (8)5878, schaefer@geol.lsu.edu
  • Scully, Marlan - Texas A&M University - scully@physics.tamu.edu - (979) 862-2333
  • Slezak, Cyrill, Hillsdale College, Millsdale, Michigan, (517) 398-4324,
  • Vassiliev, Oleg - Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center - (225) 215-1205 -
  • N. S. Vidhyadhiraja - Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR), Bangalore, India and Centre for Computational Tehcnology, Louisiana State University - +91-80-2208-2790, (225)-578-4783, raja@jncasr.ac.in,
  • Wang, Wei-Hsung - Director, Radiation Safety Office, 125 Nuclear Science Bldg.,
    (8)2743, weihsung@lsu.edu
  • Weiss, Rainer - Massachusetts Institute of Technology (LIGO) - weiss@ligo.mit.edu
  • Zhang, Rui - Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center - (225) 215-1132,

Last updated: September 23, 2014