We hear that...

Jorge Pullin, Louisiana State University pullin@phys.lsu.edu
Stan Whitcomb, Lee Lindblom, Sam Finn, Ashok Das were elected fellows of the American Physical Society.

Vicky Kalogera received a David and Lucile Packard Fellowship and the A. J. Cannon Award of the American Astronomical Society and the American Association of University Women.

Barry Barish was elected to the National Academy of Sciences and to the National Science Board.

Luis Lehner was awarded a Sloan Fellowship.

The Prime Minister of the UK, Tony Blair, opened The Ogden Centre for Fundamental Physics at the University of Durham on Friday 18th October 2002. The multi-million pound science complex will create a world-leading centre of excellence in fundamental physics, combining research into the building blocks of the universe and the large scale structure of the universe, coupled with a mission to inspire a new generation of young scientists.

Hearty congratulations!