We hear that...

Jorge Pullin pullin@phys.lsu.edu
Jürgen Ehlers will receive the 2002 Max Planck Medal of the German Physical Society. The medal is given by the Society for outstanding acheivements in theoretical physics from world-wide nominations and is widely regarded as its the highest international honor. It was instituted in Jnue 1929 to mark the 50th anniversary of Planck's doctorate. The first two recipients were Planck and Einstein. Ehlers will receive the prize in March 2002 during a special ceremony at the annual meeting of DFG.

Gary Horowitz, Bei-Lok Hu and David Shoemaker have been made Fellows of the American Physical Society.

Hearty congratulations!

Jorge Pullin 2002-02-11