Louisiana State UniversityLSU LogoPhysics and Astronomy

Physics 2101, General Physics for Technical Students, Fall 2010

Section 7 (Tue-Thu 1:40-3pm, 109 Nicholson)

Instructor: Gabriela Gonzalez
Email: gonzalez@lsu.edu
Office hours: Mon, Tue 5-6pm 271-C Nicholson Hall (or by appointment)

We will post here news that pertain to our section. Please visit the link to Phys 2101, Fall 2010 webpage to see news that pertain to ALL sections.

Announcements:





The lectures posted (PDF files) are preliminary, but you are very encouraged to read them (and the textbook's material) in advance, and have your questions ready to ask in class. If you want to download the PowerPoint files, which sometimes have notes with solutions to the problems in class, substitute the ".pdf" extension by a ".pptx" extension. 


Week #, Dates Chapter, topic Comments
1 - Aug 23-27 Ch 1-4: Phys 1100 Review
Tue Aug 24
Thu Aug 26

2 - Aug 30-Sep 3 Ch 5-7: Phys 1100 Review
Tue Aug 31
Thu Sep 2
M 8/30: Last day for dropping w/o a "W"
W 9/1: last day for adding and changing sections
Quiz 1 (solution)
3 - Sep 6-10 Ch 8: Potential Energy and Conservation of Energy
Tue Sep 7
Thu Sep 9
M 9/6: Labor Day holiday
Tue 9/7, 6pm: TEST 1 (Ch 1-7)
4 - Sep 13-17 Ch 9: Center of Mass and Linear Momentum
Tue Sep 14
Thu Sep 16
Quiz 2
5 - Sep 20-24 Ch 10: Rotation; Ch 11: Rolling
Tue Sep 21
Thu Sep 23
Quiz 3
6 - Sep 27-Oct 1 Ch 11: Torque, Angular momentum
Tue Sep 28
Thu Sep 30
Quiz 4
7 - Oct 4-8 Ch 12: Equilibrium
Tue Oct 5
Thu Oct 7
Quiz 5
8 - Oct 11-15 Ch 13: Gravitation
Tue Oct 12
Thu Oct 14
 Mid semester exam week
T 10/12, 6pm: TEST 2 (Ch 8-12)
9 - Oct 18-22 Ch 14: Fluids
Tue Oct 19
T 10/19: Mid-semester grades due
Th, Fri 10/21-22: Fall Holiday
10 - Oct 25-29 Ch 15: Oscillations
Tue Oct 26
Thu Oct 28

11 - Nov 1-5 Ch 16: Waves
Tue Nov 2
Thu Nov 4
Review (exam 3)
F 11/5: Final date for dropping courses
F 11/5: Final date to request rescheduling of final exams
12 - Nov 8-12 Ch 18: Temperature, Heat, 1st Law of Thermodynamics
Tue Nov 9
Thu Nov 11
T 11/9, 6pm TEST 3 (Ch 13-16)
13 - Nov 15-19 Ch 19: Kinetic Theory of Gases
Tue Nov 16
Thu Nov 18

14 - Nov 22-26 Ch 20: Entropy, 2nd Law of Thermodynamics
Tue Nov 23
W 12:30pm-Fri 11/24-26: Thanksgiving Holiday
15 - Nov 29-Dec 3 Ch 20: Entropy, 2nd Law of Thermodynamics
Review
Tue Nov 30
Thu Dec 2

16 - Dec 6-11
Th Dec 9, 7:30am: FINAL EXAM (Ch 7-20)